Files made using Chris Hills's MidiPlay

F Mendelssohn


You can freely and lawfully download a printable score for this Work from IMSLP - the Petrucci Music Library - though it may not be exactly the same as the one used to make the Midi Files below, and it probably won't be as good as a proper paid-for engraved and printed score.

There is an excellent performance of this Work by the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and the Netherlands Radio Choir led by Jan Willem de Vriend on YouTube starting here. The oratorio ‘Christus’, is an unfinished piece by Felix Mendelssohn. Mendelssohn started composing it in 1846, but died in 1847. The now performed music, Op. 97, are fragments from the oratoria that were already written.

Here is a "clickable" Table of the available Midi Files for this Work (my thanks to Mike Gibson - who lent me his NWC2 Files to work from):-

Christus (Op. 97)
UNemphasized Soprano  Alto  Tenor  Bass 
 1: When Jesus, our Lord,
      Say, where is he born?
None None None None
 2: There shall a star from Jacob yes yes yes yes
 3: And the multitude arose None None None None
 4: This man we have found
      Then Pilate said to the priests
yes yes yes yes
 5: He stirreth up the Jews
      Pilate said again:
yes yes yes yes
 6: Away with Jesus
      Still, Pilate spake again
yes yes yes yes
 7: Crucify yes yes yes yes
 8: Then unto them Pilate said: None None None None
 9: We have a sacred law. yes yes yes yes
10: Then unto them he deliver'd Him: None None None None
11: Daughters of Zion yes yes yes yes
12: He leaves His heavenly portals yes yes yes yes

That's the end of the Work.

And if something doesn't work properly, please let me know (see the "Comments" section of my Homepage).

Back to Composer

Files originally uploaded in Oct/20.