Files "cleaned" Dec/11

J S Bach

The Christmas Oratorio

You can freely and lawfully download a printable score for this Work from Cantorion - though it may not be exactly the same as the one used to make the Midi Files below.

There is an excellent performance of this Work by the Tolzer Knabenchor under Nikolaus Harnoncourt starting here and here

Much - but not all - of this Work was keyed in from the Barenreiter Urtext Vocal Score. Much - but not all - was keyed in using the "old" Novello score. Note that the new Novello edition may in places have different words - and different "titles" - for each piece ... but the notes are, I think, much the same.

Here is a "clickable" Table of the available Midi Files for this Work:-

Part 1 is immediately below. Part 2 is on the next page.

The Christmas Oratorio - Part 1
UNemphasized Soprano  Alto  Tenor  Bass 
1: Christians, be joyful yes yes yes yes
2: Now it came to pass in those days
3: See now the Bridegroom
None None None None
4: Prepare thyself, Zion None None None None
5: How shall I fitly meet Thee? yes yes yes yes
6: And she brought forth her first-born Son None None None None
7: For us to earth He cometh poor yes None None None
8: Mighty Lord and King all glorious None None None None
9: Ah! Dearest Jesus yes yes yes yes

That's the end of Part 1. Part 2 is on the next page

And if something doesn't work properly, please let me know (see the "Comments" section of my Homepage).

Back to Composer